About

The Western Australian Institute for Educational Research was established in the 1980s for the purpose of promoting and disseminating new educational research generated, for the most part, here in Western Australia. To strengthen the collaboration among higher education institutions, government departments and their research active staff, the Executive Committee of WAIER includes representation from various universities and educational offices.

A key activity of the Institute is the organisation of the annual WAIER Forum which provides opportunities for research students and university lecturers to build networks and present their work. It is an important forum for education students, early career researchers and established researchers to receive feedback on their work in a friendly and collegial space and make connections across institutions.

The Institute also supports educational researchers through publication in the well-respected online journal, Issues in Educational Research.

Executive Committee

Dr Susan Beltman [President]
School of Education, Curtin University
Email: s.beltman@curtin.edu.au

Dr Eva Dobozy [Vice President]
School of Education, Curtin University
Email: eva.dobozy@curtin.edu.au

Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis [Secretary; Publicity Officer]
Honorary Research Fellow, Graduate School of Education
The University of Western Australia
Email: angeliki_777@hotmail.com

Dr Gregory Hine [Treasurer]
School of Education, The University of Notre Dame Australia
Email: gregory.hine@nd.edu.au

Dr Roger Atkinson [Journal Business Manager & Archivist]
IIER website and Archives
Email: rjatkinson@bigpond.com

Dr Madeleine Dobson [Sponsorship Coordinator]
Curtin University

Dr Helen Dempsey [Forum Coordinator; Publicity Officer]
Murdoch University

Dr Paul Gardner [Webpage Features Coordinator]
Curtin University

Dr Chris Glass
School of Education, Murdoch University
Email: c.glass@murdoch.edu.au

Dr Brad Gobby [WAIER Website Coordinator]
School of Education, Curtin University
Email: brad.gobby@curtin.edu.au

Ms Sonja Kuzich [Research Grant Coordinator]
School of Education, Curtin University
Email: S.Kuzich@curtin.edu.au

Dr Clare McBeath [IIER Publisher]
Email: c.mcbeath@bigpond.com

Ms Michelle Murphy [Research Seminar Coordinator]
Department of Education
Email: Michelle.Murphy@education.wa.edu.au

Dr Rosanna Stout [Webpage Features Coordinator]
Department of Education

Dr Rita Tognini [Awards Coordinator]
Email: rtognini@bigpond.com

Constitution

The WAIER Constitution can be found here.