Western Australian Institute for Educational Research

Fellows 2005

WAIER initiated the awarding of Fellowships and Life Memberships in 2004.

Professor Graham Dellar
Dean, Faculty of Education, Language Studies & Social Work (appointed January 2003)

Graham joined WAIER in 1986 and was involved in organising events such as our annual Forums for a number of years. He served in the portfolios of Treasurer, Vice President and President ... and has been a staunch supporter of our organisation for almost 20 years.

Graham has supervised many Honours, Masters and Doctoral students, predominantly in the areas of curriculum theory, leadership, school improvement and change management. His major focus has been on linking research theory to practical situations. Graham's approach to leadership emanates from a philosophical standpoint that recognises persuasion and support can be far more effective in achieving improvement and change than directing, controlling and supervising staff. He has demonstrated this type of leadership, in his tenure as Dean, by embracing professionalism and a commitment to lifelong learning, and creating a capacity in individuals and the Faculty to continuously improve.

Graham has a strong track record in research and publication particularly in the fields of school improvement and change management. He has received three Australian Research Council Large Grants, one Australian Research Council Small Grant, and a Department of Employment, Education & Training National Priority Reserve Fund grant for Citizenship education. The cumulative funding total exceeds $1.7 million. Over the last decade Graham has produced over 150 conference papers, journal publications and reports.

Professor Tony Ryan
Dean of Research, Vice Chancellery, University of Notre Dame Australia

Tony Ryan joined WAIER in the mid 1970s and has held the executive positions of:

Vice President (1982-83)
President (1984-86)
WAIER Delegate to the ACER Council (1983-86)
Immediate Past President (1987)
Secretary (1988-89)
Executive Committee Member (1990)

During his time as President or Vice President of WAIER, Tony was delegate to the ACER Council and was elected member of AARE and national Conference Organiser (1984).

With the support of WAIER's Executive at the time, Tony proposed that a weekend educational research forum be established, at which local researchers (and especially their graduate students) would be encouraged to present to their peers and potential end users in the schools and system offices. This is what we now refer to as our WAIER Forum, an event that has been running successfully for two decades.

During the 1980s, Tony chaired the AARE's WA-based Conference Organising Committee. This included running the Annual National Conference at the UWA. He also served as Convenor of WAIT's Centre for the Study of Teaching. From there he became Head of the School of Foundation Studies in Education, and later moved to the position of Dean of the Faculty of Education when WAIT became Curtin University of Technology.

During the 1990s Tony was responsible for the development of Notre Dame's masters and doctoral programs in Education and the associated research training programs.

Tony was also involved in a number of major school reviews and evaluations including:

Dr Beverley Webster
Beverley Webster is currently a Post Doctoral Research Fellow at ECU.

Beverley has been a member of WAIER's executive since the mid-1990s and served in the positions of:

WAIER Secretary from 1998 to 2003
Forum Convenor from 1997 to 2003
Early Career Award sub committee
Marketing sub committee, and
IIER journal sub committee.

Beverley's interest in mathematics stems from her role as teacher of mathematics, computing and physical education. She completed her PhD in mathematics education in 2002.

Beverley has worked at the Science and Mathematics Education Research Centre at Curtin University and presented research in the field of education at local, national and international conferences.

As a Post Doctoral Research Fellow in the Faculty of Business and Law, Bev's influence extends to the education and training of mature employers and employees with a focus on small business. She has obtained over half a million dollars in grants during the last few years, mainly in the fields of business training and development.

Beverley has a growing list of publications focussing on Australian Small Business Participation in Training Activities and the impact of gender issues in home based business. She has a strong publication record relative to her academic tenure.

Last year Beverley won the 2004 Dean's Award for Professional and Community Engagement for engaging with the business community and bringing benefits to both the Faculty and the business community. Other areas of community leadership relate to collaborative projects with AusIndustry Small Business Enterprise.

[ Fellows and Life Members ] [ Postgraduate Awards ] [ Early Career Awards ] [ All Forums Index ] [ WAIER Home Page ]
This URL: http://www.waier.org.au/awards/fellows-2005.html
Created 19 Nov 2005. Last revised 18 May 2006. HTML: Roger Atkinson [rjatkinson@bigpond.com]